Posted by on Nov 4, 2016 in Afri, Antisemitism, Asia, Death, France, French, Hispanic, Jewish, Middle-East, Native, Racism, STL |

[WITH THREE TREASURES]
– find them below –

Again, the St. Louis wow-festival is a trip!
This year, SLIFF after 2300 submissions – not counting distributors and studio considerations – will screen 420 films from 72 countries!
Below are some recommendations – I am missing many but my time is restricted at this time.
  • The “good bets” that I have not seen have no check marks.
  • Those I can vouch for are marked with an [X]
  • Those I very much appreciate: [X][X]
  • Those stand-outs, the gems, have an [X][X][X]
  • Interfaith Jury Selections (on which I served) have an [IJ]
In chronological order to the extent possible.
Here is the interactive schedule.

Ixcanul
Friday, Nov. 4 at 12:00pm
Saturday, Nov. 5 at 9:00pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

Apprentice [X][X][IJ]
Friday, November 4 at 2:45pm
Sunday, November 6 at 8:45pm
Plaza Frontenac

Fatima
Friday, Nov. 4 at 4:15pm
Saturday, Nov. 5 at 2:00pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

Art of the Prank
November 5, 2016 at 5:30 pm
.Zack

Two Worlds
Sunday, Nov. 6 at 12:00pm
Tivoli Theatre

Celestial Camel Nebesnyy verblyud
Saturday, Nov. 5 at 2:15pm
Sunday, Nov. 6 at 12:15pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema


The Children of the Noon
[IJ]
Saturday, November 5 at 4:00pm
Saint Louis U.Center for Global Citizenship


Nana
Sunday, Nov. 6 at 12:30pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

Van McElwee: Solutions to an Unknown Problem
  w. four new pieces – FREE
November 6, 4PM
Webster University


Mr. Gaga

Sunday, Nov. 6 at 7:00pm
.ZACK

Banat Il Viaggio
Monday, November 7 at 4:45pm
Wednesday, November 9 at 2:15pm

Home Care  Domácí péce
Monday, Nov. 7 at 4:30pm
Thursday, Nov. 10 at 2:15pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

The Liberators
Monday, Nov. 7 at 7:30pm (after 40 minute-short)
.Zack

Old Stone  Lao shi
Monday, Nov. 7 at 6:45pm
Tuesday, Nov. 8 at 2:10pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

Harmonium Fuchi ni tatsu
Friday, Nov. 4 at 12:15pm
Monday, Nov. 7 at 12:15pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

The Peacemaker [X][X][X] [IJ]
Saturday, November 5 at 7:30pm
Washington U./Brown Auditorium

Cloudy Sunday [X][X] [IJ]
Sunday, November 6 at 8:00pm
Monday, November 7 at 2:00pm
Plaza Frontenac

Fever at Dawn [X][X]
Monday, Nov. 7 at 6:30pm
Wednesday, Nov. 9 at 2:30pm
Plaza Frontenac

Doc Shorts: Humans of Syria FREE
Tuesday, November 8 5PM
Tivoli

The Measure of a ManLa Loi du Marché [X][X][X] [IJ]
Tuesday, November 8 at 6:30pm
Friday, November 11 at 5:00pm
Plaza Frontenac

Kapo in Jerusalem Kapo Be’Yerushalaim [X][X][IJ]
Wednesday, November 9 at 5:00pm
Friday, November 11 at 2:30pm
Plaza Frontenac

Lion
Wednesday Nov. 9  6:30
Tivoli

Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise [X][X] [IJ] FREE
Wednesday, November 9 at 7:30pm
Ritenour Auditorium

The Eagle Huntress
Thursday, Nov. 10 at 6:45pm
Plaza Frontenac Cinema

Mara’Akame’s Dream [X][X]
Thursday, November 10 7 PM
Tivoli

When War Comes Home
Friday, Nov. 11 at 7:30pm
Saint Louis U./Center for Global Citizenship

The Happy Film
Saturday, Nov. 12 at 1:00pm
Zack

The Yatzkan [X][X] (I will be discussing the film)
Sunday Nov. 13 at 12 PM
Plaza Frontenac

Germans & Jews [X] [IJ]
Sunday, November 13 at 2:30pm
Plaza Frontenac

Bogdan’s Journey [X][X] [X][IJ]
Sunday, November 13 at 3:00pm
Missouri History Museum

The Last Laugh
Sunday, Nov. 13 at 3:00pm
.Zack

Two Trains Runnin’ [X] – FREE
Sunday, Nov. 13 at 6:00pm
Missouri History Museum